Quick dinner. Quick post.

Big day. Lots of nervous energy. (Will explain later.) Have an appointment tonight, so we’re having a very early dinner. (Will explain later.) Quick post today because I refuse to stop with the Vegan MoFo!

Vegan MoFo 2013 banner image

Cooking keeps me calm and we need comfort food today. I’m sticking to a strict budget this week, so I only wanted to use what was in the cupboard or fridge.

Roast vegies

I started by grabbing all the leftover vegies—sweet potato, onion, garlic and cauliflower. Tossed them in olive oil, sprinkled with Ras El Hanout spice mix, and baked at around 200° Celsius.

Roast vegies in a pan

Lasagne

While that was cooking, I threw together a lasagna.

Quickly fried up onion and garlic, then added oregano, basil, a tin of lentils, and a bottle of passata. (This was the saucy layer.)

Made a white sauce out of flour, soy milk and Nuttelex margarine. (This was the white sauce layer—obviously!)

Grabbed a container of cashew ricotta that I made the other day out of soaked, raw cashews, silken tofu and garlic, with a bit of salt.

Thawed out some frozen spinach.

I layered the tomato sauce, white sauce and spinach, with instant  lasagna noodles, then topped the lot with cashew ricotta, a drizzle of olive oil and a sprinkle of sweet paprika.

Baked at about 200° Celsius for half an hour.

Lasagna

Cut lasagne

Quick dessert

In need of a sweet, delicious, but quick and easy dessert, I did some Googling and found just what I wanted on Healthy. Happy. Life.  No-Bake Cacao Cookie Dough Bars.

These were so quick to make, and so delicious, that they might be dangerous! I can see myself whizzing up a batch quite a lot in future.

I squirted melted chocolate on top, but had a bit too much, so I made a bit of a mess, as you can see. The chocolate doesn’t look as shiny as Kathy’s because I froze it again after I’d added the chocolate.

I really recommend them—but don’t make the bars this big. I ate mine, but felt sick. H couldn’t even finish hers in one go.

Chocolate date bar

That’s it for today. Must rush off! (Hope this is OK, cos I don’t have time to proofread…or spell properly!)

14 thoughts on “Quick dinner. Quick post.

  1. So, um, when I’m “throwing together” a “quick dinner” it usually means I stand in the kitchen spreading peanut butter on crackers and eating them only until my mouth is almost permanently stuck closed. THIS is impressive.

    • Haha! Now that I’ve stopped to look at it, it is more impressive than my usual quick dinners. (Baked beans on toast, usually) I was running on nervous energy and seemed to have lots of things on hand, so it really was pretty quick.😊

  2. Hells bells that would be considered my “making a real effort” kind of dinner especially with a dessert.
    Can’t wait to find out what you’re going to explain later.

  3. Next time you whip up a quick meal, I’m coming over for dinner!
    Your lasagne looks fabulous.
    I adore no-bake treats. I love the chocolate swirl on yours. Oh, and ras el hanout- I love that too!

  4. Well thank you…someone told me my chocolate swirls looked a bit like poo! 🙂 But they apologised when I told them they wouldn’t need to eat it. I think I’m going to have to try some more no-bake desserts and treats. I know you have lots on your blog. I’ll have to check them more closely. I need to stop just eating all the dates straight out of the bag though!

Leave a Reply

