Saved by a green smoothie garden

Vegan MoFo 2013 banner image

I come from a family of green thumbs, but sadly, I didn’t inherit the gene. I did inherit the fat bum, the short sightedness and the horror of public speaking, but not the green thumb, I’m afraid.

I don’t have a clue about gardening

It’s not that I don’t appreciate a good garden, I do. I especially love a big, productive vegie garden and fruit trees. The problem is that I get so overwhelmed by the whole thing that it makes me dizzy. I just give up and head off to the farmers’ market instead.

I’ve had lots of good advice from my green-thumbed family members, I’ve visited Bulleen Art and Garden  and CERES, I’ve pored over the Digger’s catalogue and I’ve attended council-run seminars on composting and vegie gardening. I’ve read gardening books and blogs, watched Vasili , Costa  and Peter Cundall, and I’ve listened to Jane Edmanson and Dirty Deeds, but with every gem of wisdom I feel more confused and inadequate.

A couple of months ago, I decided to disregard all of it. I decided I wouldn’t do any more gardening. We planted a few low maintenance plants, like ferns and nasturtiums and let the rest of it go to hell…which just looks really depressing.

Giving it another shot

Then, while browsing through a whole lot of vegan food blogs, I came across Kemi’s Raw Kitchen, and her idea of a green smoothie garden. I loved the idea—after all, when we had grown vegies, silverbeet and rainbow chard were about the only plants that didn’t get attacked by pests or killed by drought or neglect.

I (very carelessly) prepared one of our old vegie beds that had been overtaken by weeds. I threw in some rainbow chard, kale and silverbeet seedlings. (Yes, seedlings! I’m aware that that’s a waste of money and I should be growing them from seed—but, as I said, I’m not following the rules anymore! I’m such a rebel.)

Silverbeet and rainbow chard in the garden

When they took off, I followed up with coriander, parsley and mint.

Kale, coriander and parsley growing in pots

Last week, I added snow peas. So far, it’s all going pretty well.

Green smoothies from the garden

My favourite thing is to go into the garden to pick off a few leaves for a green breakfast smoothie or a stir fry.

Last week I moaned about my failed Vine video, but this time I managed to film the making of my breakfast smoothie. So, dim the lights, grab your popcorn, and get ready for a great viewing experience! (I’ve only had one comment on Vine…that it’s “gross”. Oh well, that person didn’t taste it!) J

By the way, the video is quite annoying! If you want it to stop, just scroll away from the image. (I don’t get it either…)

10 thoughts on “Saved by a green smoothie garden

  1. Don’t sweat it; until you “get” green smoothies, you just don’t get it; I’ve been there. Congrats on your garden and for doing it your way! I always say I’m going to do it, but I don’t want to fail. If that’s the worst that could happen, who cares? Good on you!

  2. A green smoothie garden is a brilliant idea. We tried to grow kale but it didn’t work out. Our herbs are thriving though.
    I enjoyed your video too. What were you listening to on the radio?

    • Maybe those greens are particularly suited to my climate, because they thrive on neglect here. It’s hard to tell what I was listening to, it sounds so weird on the video! I was trying to work it out later. I think it sounds like talk, so it’s probably Radio National.

  3. Your garden is impressive, I started a winter garden this year and have had more failures than successes. I did have luck with kale for a while but it eventually became infested with grey aphids and my silverbeet hasn’t grown well as it was overshadowed by snow peas and broad beans. I guess it’s part of the learning experience though…

  4. Yay, you’ve done it and it looks terrific. The experts always say start off with a small garden so you won’t be overwhelmed and feel defeated. I say that even those experts have crops that fail so why do the rest of us think we have to have perfect gardens all the time? If we’re gardening organically Mother Nature is sure to get the better of us every now and then.

    I can’t believe you’re saying we’ve all got big bums 😉

  5. Pingback: Cafes near work and my breakfast | The Lentil Institution

Leave a Reply

