Celebrating with lemon meringue pie!

Lemon meringue pie

Here’s how mine turned out.

Yesterday I handed in my final assessment piece for my Masters course— what a relief!  So, after another semester of throwing together dinner, buying takeaway and eating out, I just wanted to take my time and make a bit of a special celebratory dinner tonight.

With some yummy puffed tofu in the fridge waiting to be eaten, I had a hankering for a Thai curry, and visited S-I-X shops before I found a Thai curry paste that didn’t contain shrimp paste. I’ve bought it many times before but, for the life of me, I couldn’t remember where I’d got it! I wouldn’t give up though. My mouth was already watering at the thought of the curry.

Thai Gourmet curry paste - no shrimp paste!

Yay! No shrimp paste.

It tasted great, but as usual, I forgot to take a photo – not that it looked like anything special. It was just your average curry, with potato, sweet potato, green bean broccoli, puffed tofu and almonds. I’m sure you don’t need a picture anyway.

The exciting part was dessert. I can’t remember how long it’s been since I’ve actually prepared a dessert. We had a pile of lemons from a visit to the market yesterday, so I Googled vegan lemon meringue pie and up came Mr Nice Guy’s recipe.

As you might already know, I’m rather a fan of Mr Nice Guy…in fact I seem to have mentioned him in almost every post, but I’ve never made any of his recipes before.

Read Mr Nice Guy’s lemon meringue pie recipe or watch the video below.

The pie was a lot easier to make than I expected, but I got a little bit stumped when I tried to get the meringue to brown. I kept it in the oven for too long and kept pumping up the heat, but it wouldn’t brown…then I looked more closely and realised that Mr Nice Guy’s hadn’t browned either! It did taste great though.

I didn’t follow the recipe exactly. We didn’t have any agar left, so I used Vegeset (carageenan) in the filling, which worked perfectly well. I used No Egg as my egg replacer (Mr Nice Guy didn’t say which one he used). I ALMOST used Vegg, but realised just in time that it is an egg YOLK replacer—what a waste that would have been!

Dessert was pretty late because I kept trying to brown it (doh!) and when I finally gave up on that, it had to sit for half an hour after coming out of the oven, so the family were going mad waiting for it. It was worth the wait though. The filling was deliciously creamy and lemony, and the meringue was puffy and sweet.

Check out this video. I noticed in the comments that he mentioned that it doesn’t brown. Glad it wasn’t just me!

2 thoughts on “Celebrating with lemon meringue pie!

  1. Hi Linda!
    Congratulations on handing in your last assignment for your Master’s. What are you studying?
    Your meringue looks delicious! If it’s Mister Nice Guy, it must be fabulous. 🙂
    I’ve watched a couple of his videos- cupcakes mostly.
    I’m glad you tracked down the curry paste eventually! I recently made my own green curry paste for the reason you mention- hard to find one without shrimp paste.
    I haven’t been getting your posts in my Reader. I thought you were having a ‘break’ but I realise I have missed a few posts.
    Time to catch up!
    Anyway, I hope you and your family are well.

    • Hi Ally, Well you can see I’m not at all organised, because I only just saw your messages! I must get into a routine now that I’m not studying any more.

      I did a Master of Information Studies (Information Architecture) – it’s about structuring websites so that people can find what they need. I’ve always worked for non-profits, so I can use my new powers for good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

