I’m just tired of debating…

Scarecrow in wheat field.I suppose by now everyone has seen the article from the ABC’s Science Show, about how smug veg*ns “who don’t eat meat because they consider it cruel could cause more harm to animals than actual meat production does”.

We all know it’s a load of rubbish, but I suppose the ABC knew a patronising attack on veg*ns would be sure to get everyone commenting and arguing. I’m surprised that The Science Show would stoop to that kind of thing, though.

Really, next week they’ll be reporting on carrots screaming as we pull them out of our vegie gardens!

I’d much prefer to be a mouse living freely in a wheat field, killed when the crops are harvested than a pig stuck in a sow stall, in a shed, having babies I can never cuddle, until the day I’m shoved into a truck, hung from a hook and my throat is slashed while I’m (quite possibly) fully conscious (after waiting terrified in a queue for my turn to come).

Yes, maybe mice sing to each other, as Prof. Mike Archer argues, and so do birds – but cows cry for their calves when they’re removed from them. Piglets squeal when they have bits of their bodies cut off.

While people keep up this ridiculous debate for their own intellectual enjoyment, many farm animals are living in hell and are being slaughtered because people feel like eating meat or eggs or dairy (yes, animals die for eggs and dairy too).

And I don’t care about the debate about what we are “meant” to eat – we were never “meant” to treat animals as commodities, breed them so they grow so big and so quickly that they suffer, or to eat as much or waste as much meat as we do. The fact is, we can live very well without eating animal products – so why cause harm if we don’t have to?

The day I decided to stop consuming animal products was one of the best days of my life. I felt like a huge burden was lifted from my shoulders, because I didn’t have to pretend it didn’t matter any more.

Crappy articles

Here’s the article from The Science Show.

Here’s another unbelievably crap article about people who don’t eat meat.

At least I’m trying!

This all just makes me feel very tired…and after all that, a comment from a friend at work today: “You’re vegan? What are those shoes made of?” (Yes, they were leather – I’m sorry, but I can’t afford to totally re-outfit myself and my family in 4 months. I’m currently waiting for Vegan Wares to make me my pair of vegan birthday boots…and let me tell you, they can’t come soon enough!) If only I could wear my canvas runners to work.

One thought on “I’m just tired of debating…

  1. Oh Mike Archer, the man who wants to see us all eating kangaroos.
    You summed it up – ‘at least I’m trying’.
    You have reminded me of a quote by Edmund Burke: ‘Nobody made a greater mistake than he (she) who did nothing because he (she) could do only a little’.
    I cannot end all violence and suffering in the world, but I can do my part. It would be remiss of me not to do what I can EASILY do. Veganism is one vital step in that process.
    Great post Linda. I can relate to your frustration.

Leave a Reply

