Black bean and quinoa soup

Quino and black bean soup, with a plate of corn chips and mashed avocado.

The photo doesn’t really do it justice. It was much brighter than this in real life. I really need to become a better photographer.

I’ve been making lots of yummy things lately, but I never seem to remember to take a photo of any of them before I stuff them into my mouth!

A recipe blog entry isn’t very interesting without a picture, so it’s been a while since I’ve posted a recipe.

Well, tonight I re-made a Post Punk Kitchen recipe for Black Bean and Quinoa Soup, and managed to restrain myself long enough to get a photo before I gobbled it up.

This one’s a simple recipe—the hardest part was remembering to buy a tin of black beans, a packet of corn chips, and stopping everyone from eating the avocados before the soup was ready.

Unlike Post Punk Kitchen, I didn’t serve the corn chips or avocado on top of the soup; we had ours as a side dish—it didn’t look quite as impressive, but it was easier.

This was only posted on Post Punk Kitchen about a week ago, but it’s already become a bit of a family favourite. It’s tasty, delicious, nutritious and easy to make. The perfect family dinner!

Get the recipe from Post Punk Kitchen.

Oh, and if you try this, you’ll want to make sure you get plain corn chips, and not the ones with the fake cheesy powder all over them.

Feeling adventurous?

If you’ve got more black beans and avocado to use up, here’s another recipe…Black Bean Avocado Chocolate Cupcakes…

I’m not too sure about it, but it’s a cute video. Perhaps I’ll have to get our family baker onto it. I think you’d have to eat them quickly, because the avocado butter cream icing would probably go brown if you left it sitting for too long.

2 thoughts on “Black bean and quinoa soup

  1. Oh your soup looks yummy and warming. We have had cold weather and incessant heavy rain here today- this would be perfect. I’m also a big fan of corn chips and avocado. 🙂
    I’m intrigued by the cupcakes.

    I was trying to photograph some muffins this afternoon with little natural light (see previous comment about weather!), and I said to Mat that I really need to do a photography course.

  2. Oops! As you can tell, I haven’t kept up with my blog very much in the last few weeks. I’ve handed in one assignment now, so I’m catching up a bit before I get stuck into the next one.

    A photography course sounds like a great idea – but I promised myself that I’m not doing a course in ANYTHING EVER again. (Of course, I’ve told myself that many times over the years, and I always go back for more!)

Leave a Reply

