The Easter Bunny’s buddies

Small brown rabbitDid the Easter Bunny come to your house last night?

He dropped by our place and left us enough chocolate to make sure we have been thoroughly ill for the day.

He’s very kind to people—it’s a pity humans aren’t always so kind to rabbits.

I hadn’t really thought about it until recently, but rabbits are victims of a whole lot of different kinds of cruel treatment.

Animal testing

As I mentioned last month, I recently saw the movie Maximum tolerated dose, and it was an eye-opener.

Like many (or perhaps MOST) people, I had no idea of the extent of the cruelty of unnecessary testing and experimentation that still goes on.

For some reason, I think I assumed that animal testing was uncommon these days, and that it was used only for crucial medical research—to save babies from cancer or something like that.

Again I showed my incredible ignorance. In 2011, 3998 rabbits were used in animal experimentation in Australia alone, and it often proved nothing useful for humans.

Visit Humane Research Australia to find out more.

Meat

On our recent visit to Edgar’s Mission, we met 2 bunnies who were rescued from a rabbit meat factory farm.

I didn’t even know rabbits were farmed! Apparently, farming rabbits for meat was illegal in Australia until the 1980s. Now, rabbits are farmed, confined to tiny solitary cages, just like battery hens.

Read about Brenda and Jacqui the rescued meat rabbits at Edgar’s Mission.

Fur

Thankfully I don’t think I know anyone who wears fur, so it hasn’t been a huge issue in my life, but animals are still being farmed and having their skins ripped off so that humans can drape them over their own bodies. It’s just a totally outrageous practice.

85% of the world’s fur comes from China, and if you don’t believe how cruel this industry is, track down the Swiss Animal Protection (SAP) videos that document what goes on there. (I don’t even want to post the links because they’re sickening and have given me nightmares, and I’d hate for one of you to accidentally click on them). Instead, you can read more about fur on the Animals Australia website.

What can we do?

This Easter, make the decision to be kind to rabbits.

  • Buy cruelty-free products that haven’t been tested on animals. (Get the list or the app.)
  • Don’t buy rabbit meat…hell, don’t buy ANY meat! (Eat only chocolate bunnies).
  • Boycott fur. There have been reports that real fur is sometimes sold as fake fur! Don’t be fooled into accidentally buying real fur. Find out how to tell the difference. Better still, if you want glamour, wear velvet. If you want warmth, wear polar fleece.

Enjoy your Easter eggs and bunnies with a clear conscience, and have a happy Easter!

2 thoughts on “The Easter Bunny’s buddies

  1. Great post Linda. Thanks for highlighting these issues. Poor, sweet bunnies.
    I don’t think I’ll be tracking down those fur videos. I know I will have nightmares too.

    (I ate too much chocolate as well).

  2. I made myself a big apple, carrot and celery juice for breakfast on Easter Sunday to help knock down the chocolate effects a bit. It did the trick until my daughter made a batch of peanut butter Easter eggs! Her own invention, they’re a bit like tiny, egg-shaped, Reese’s peanut butter cups covered with vegan chocolate. Guaranteed to make you sick after one, but I didn’t stop until 3. ohhhhhh!

Leave a Reply

