Vegetarian butcher?

Vegie sausages browning in frying pan.I did a double take when I read about Spoon’s Vegetarian Butcher on Where’s the Beef? recently.

They were set up like an old fashioned butcher, with fake grass on the ‘meat’ trays, and a model of a cow’s head on the wall. I wasn’t quite sure what to make of it, firstly because of the reference to meat, and secondly, because my past experience of mock meats is not very pleasant. I’ve usually found them unpleasantly meaty in texture and taste (well, that’s the whole idea, I suppose), and the ingredient lists look like something from the periodic table.

I was interested though, because Spoon’s had had good reviews. I didn’t hold out much hope of being able to try them any time soon though, because Spoon’s is in Sydney, and they will only deliver interstate if someone is around to personally accept the delivery and put it straight into the fridge, and that’s pretty much impossible for me to do.

At the time, there were no stockists in Victoria, so when we noticed Spoon’s sausages in the fridge at the Radical Grocery Store a couple of weeks ago, we were a bit thrilled.

Spoons sausage packaging.We bought a packet of 6—they’re a little bit pricey ($12.99 a packet), so I wanted to try them out before buying a huge amount, and anyway, there would only be 3 of us for dinner that night.

Right away I could tell these ones were going to be different. They actually looked like food! On checking the ingredients list, I found that indeed they were food. They contained:

  • Non-GM soy protein
  • Water
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • Onion
  • Miso paste
  • Almonds
  • Nutritional yeast
  • Lupin flour
  • Sesame oil
  • Psyllium husks
  • Garlic
  • Parley
  • Sage
  • Rosemary, and
  • Thyme (who can resist a food that includes Simon and Garfunkle lyrics?).

I actually know what each of these ingredients are! These sausages would contain real nutritional value. That’s a huge innovation as far as mock meats usually go.

Just as I started cooking, I got a text to say my son was coming home for dinner after all. (“That’s great!” I said, cursing under my breath. Perhaps he could smell their delicious herby aroma from wherever he was.) That meant that I had to stretch them a bit, and we ended up with only 1½ each…and some bread to fill us up, but that was fine. It was just nice to have him at home for dinner.

Vegie sausages, mashed potato and cabbage salad on dinner plate.I served them with mashed potato, cabbage salad and bread. They browned up really nicely and the texture was really good. It was the first time my kids had ever had a sausage with a skin on it (most vegie sausages don’t have skins), which they thought was a bit weird, but they got used to it pretty quickly.

They were a big hit with everybody. The dog was begging for a piece, and was disappointed that he missed out. After all, there wasn’t really enough to go around as it was.

I’ll definitely be going back for more. Hang the expense—next time I’ll be buying 2 packets! They’re worth it. After all, other families spend big bucks on meat, and it’s great to be able to support a small business that’s producing a real quality product.

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Vegetarian butcher?

  1. I am intrigued by this place. Next time I visit Sydney (which I hope is soon!), I need to get thee to Enmore to check out this place for myself.
    They are pricey! But it sounds as though they were worth it,

  2. Pingback: Eurovision and comfort food | The Lentil Institution

Leave a Reply

