Chilli beans and cheesecake

Dinner plate with chilli beans, salad, corn, taco chips, guacamole and soy sour cream...and a stubby of beer.I’ve got a lanky 19-year-old son who runs about 16 kms several times a week, and rides a bike everywhere. Trying to keep him fed is ridiculous. He is ALWAYS hungry and appreciates filling, healthy food…and chocolate.

Last night he actually made it home for dinner, so we had dinner AND dessert, and I think I succeeded in filling him up…well, he did have multiple serves of the chilli beans.

I never really planned to rely so much on the veganeasy.org website, but I seem to have been using it a lot lately.

Last night I made the Tacos and Guacamole, which was almost identical to a meal we’ve been eating for years anyway, except that the sour cream is now Tofutti Sour Supreme, and there was no grated cheese on top. I also broke up the taco shells so we could use them like big corn chips…or pappadums (just mixing my cultures here!).

For dessert, I thought I’d try out the Lemon Cheesecake and my husband made the topping out of strawberries and maple syrup. It tasted great, but didn’t have the same consistency as a dairy fridge-chilled cheesecake. It was a bit too light to keep its shape, but it tasted really good.

Cheesecake with strawberries and syrup on top.

I put it in the freezer overnight, and it is really good frozen on a hot day like this—although I think I’ll leave that for the kids.

By the way, the bottle of Coopers Sparkling Ale (pictured above) is, apparently, vegan too.

4 thoughts on “Chilli beans and cheesecake

  1. I am loving the look of your dinner and dessert, and Coopers beer! I haven’t had a Coopers Pale Ale in a while. They are a nice, vegan beer.

    Ah, I will have 3 teenage sons one day! They will eat us out of house and home!
    My husband really needs to get on to our vegie garden. My daughter has a hearty appetite already, especially on the nights after she does her squad swimming.

  2. Good luck! It’s a good incentive for them to learn to cook anyway. Mine thinks nothing of eating an entire packet of spaghetti with napoli sauce for lunch…and he’s starving again an hour later!

Leave a Reply

