Pesto success!

Bundoora Farmers’ Market was buzzing yesterday. The sun was out, there were tons of gorgeous, fresh fruit and vegies…not to mention delicious VEGAN potato dosas for breakfast.

I’ve been thinking quite a bit lately about how I’m going to replace pesto in our diet, when we will no longer eat parmesan cheese. I’ve looked at lots of different recipes but had kept putting off trying them out because I was afraid we’d be disappointed (we do love our pesto).

When I saw a dish full of big, juicy bunches of basil at one of the market stalls, I knew my moment had come. We immediately grabbed 2 enormous bunches and headed home to experiment.

After checking my cookbooks and Googling around, I finally made up my own recipe that was really just my normal pesto, minus the parmesan, with salt added.

I put all the basil leaves in the food processor (probably about 6 cups loosely packed).

Half a lemon on the juicer with 10 chopped garlic cloves on a chopping board.

Then I peeled 10 cloves of garlic and juiced half a lemon.

To the basil in the  food processor, I added:

  • the garlic
  • 1/4 cup of lightly toasted pine nuts
  • 3/4 cup of extra virgin olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • juice of 1/2 a lemon.

I whizzed it up until it looked like (parmesan-free) pesto.

Pesto in the food processor.

Then I served it on spiral pasta with a salad. It tasted REALLY good. But then, how could you go wrong with these ingredients?

My daughter and I added a little smidgen of nutritional yeast on top, just to see how it tasted—it didn’t need it. I’ll definitely be making this one again.

pesto_plated_web

Find out more about Bundoora Farmers’ Market.

Leave a Reply

